News by

DO NO HARM by Henry Marsh in the running for Costa Prize Biography Award 2014

I’m very excited to see my favourite book of late Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Brain Surgery on the short-list for the Costa Prize Biography Award for 2014.

The author Dr Henry Marsh, one of Britain’s leading neurosurgeons, said the book was the result of years of diary writing ‘after a terrible or exhilarating day at work’ adding ‘There’s an odd contrast, for me it’s just another day at work, and for my patients it’s terrible and potential tragedy.’

Here are the rest of the nominees.  For a full description of all short-listed books click here.

The 2014 Costa Book Award shortlists

Novel Award

  • Neel Mukherjee for The Lives of Others (Chatto & Windus)
  • Monique Roffey for House of Ashes (Simon and Schuster)
  • Ali Smith for How to be both (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Colm Tóibín for Nora Webster (Viking)

First Novel Award

  • Carys Bray for A Song for Issy Bradley (Hutchinson)
  • Mary Costello for Academy Street (Canongate)
  • Emma Healey for Elizabeth is Missing (Viking)
  • Simon Wroe for Chop Chop (Viking)

Biography Award

Get Newsletters from Bookstoker

* = required field

  • John Campbell for Roy Jenkins: A Well-Rounded Life (Jonathan Cape)
  • Marion Coutts for The Iceberg: A Memoir (Atlantic Books)
  • Helen Macdonald for H is for Hawk (Jonathan Cape)
  • Henry Marsh for Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Brain Surgery (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Poetry Award

  • Colette Bryce for The Whole and Rain-domed Universe (Picador)
  • Jonathan Edwards for My Family and Other Superheroes (Seren)
  • Lavinia Greenlaw for A Double Sorrow: Troilus and Criseyde (Faber & Faber)
  • Kei Miller for The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion (Carcanet)

Children’s Book Award

  • Simon Mason for Running Girl (David Fickling Books/Random House Children’s Publishers)
  • Michael Morpurgo for Listen to the Moon (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
  • Kate Saunders for Five Children on the Western Front (Faber & Faber)
  • Marcus Sedgwick for The Ghosts of Heaven (Indigo)