News by

She does it again! Kate Atkinson wins the Costa Prize for the third time

Kate Atkinson won the Costa Novel Award 2015 earlier this week for the novel A God in Ruins. Not bad considering she’s won the prize twice before: in 2013 for Life After Life and in 1995 for Behind the Scenes at the Museum. A God in Ruins follows Teddy, one of the characters from Life After Life, and his struggle to live a ‘normal’ life after his career as an RAF pilot during the Second World War.

The winners in the other categories were:

  • Costa First Novel Award – The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Costa Biography Award  – The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science by Andrea Wulf
  • Costa Poetry Award – 40 Sonnets by Don Paterson
  • Costa Children’s Book Award – The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

More on each of the winners and their books can be found here.


Get Newsletters from Bookstoker

* = required field